Burning Bridget Cleary Nominated as "Best New Irish Act" in Irish Music Awards

Irish Music Awards Nominees Named for 2012

As published in AcousticMusicScene:

Online voting began December 1 and extends until January 12, 2013 on nominees in 18 categories for the fifth annual Irish Music Awards presented by the Independence, Missouri-based Irish Music Association. The awards are slated to be presented on Saturday afternoon, January 26, at O’Malley’s Pub in Weston, MO., while names and photos of the winners will be posted at www.irishmusicawards.com.

 Irish Music Awards nominees for 2012 include:

 Top Solo Performer in Concert: George Donaldson, Christy Moore, John Doyle, Tommy Fleming

 Top Solo Performer in a Pub Venue: Ian Gould, Luka Bloom, Tony Cummins, Mickey Coleman

 Top Duo in a Pub, Festival, Concert: The Ryans Irish Band , Lilt, Switchback, Siusan O’Rourke and Zig Zeitler

 Top Group: Cherish The Ladies, Lunasa, Gaelic Storm, Altan

 Best New Irish Artist(s): Burning Bridget Cleary, The Rovers, The Fighting Jamesons, Ciorras

 Best New Irish CD: Lilt – Onward, The Mickey Finns – Prayers and Idle Chatter, The Ryans – Songs of Irish Freedom, Mairi Morrison & Alasdair Roberts – Urstan

 Top Celtic Rock Band: Barleyjuice, Roger Drawdy & the Firestarters, The Clumsy Lovers, Scythian

Best Irish Tenor (individual): Paul Byrom, Anthony Kearns, Daryl Simpson, Tommy Fleming

 Best Female Vocalist (individual/trad.): Katie McMahon, Chloe Agnew, Méav, Shannon Lambert-Ryan of RUNA

 Best Sean-nos Singer: Brid Ni Mhaoileoin, Maighread Ni Dhombhnaill, Aine Meenaghan Len Graham

Top Traditional Performance Show: The Fureys, Celtic Crossroads, The Henry Girls, Fidil

 Top Traditional Group in a Pub, Festival, Concert: Vishten, Guidewires, Slide, Dervish

Top Uilleann Piper: Diarmaid Moynihan, Cillian Vallely, Barry Kerr, Paddy Keenan

Top Fiddle: Martin Hayes, Alasdair Fraser, Mairead Nesbitt, Kevin Burke

 Top Button Accordion: John Williams, Liam O’Connor, Paddy O’Brien, David Munnelly

 Tommy Makem Award: The Irish Rovers, Máirtín de Cógáin, Mick Moloney, Jimmy Crowley

Note: This award is presented to an Irish music act that best reflects the performance style, philosophy, and traditional approach to Irish music of the late Tommy Makem.

 Lifetime Achievement Award: Patsy Whelan, Carmel Quinn, Joanie Madden

 Note: This award will be given to someone who has dedicated his/her life to Irish music and continues to be an icon in the Irish music community globally.

The Irish Music Association produces, promotes and perpetuates Irish music through sponsored events, festivals, concerts, pub shows, and an annual network production, according to its website.